Matcha Purchase Guide

matcha grading guide

We categorizes our matcha into 3 categories: Premium Ceremonial ,Classic CeremonialCulinary grade 

The grade of and quality of our matcha are mainly depending on the maturity of the tea leaf. The younger the tea leaf, the higher content of umami and chlorophyll which gives the matcha the sweetness and vibrant green color. Besides, younger tea leaf has lower bitterness, top grade matcha has no bitterness.


Premium Ceremonial Grade

Premium Ceremony Grade matcha is suitable to be used to make Japanese matcha tea as in Japanese Tea Ceremony. Premium Ceremony grade matcha has very good umami (pleasant savory taste), and low astringency (bitterness), therefore it's best choice to be used to make matcha tea without sugar. Read how to prepare matcha tea.


Classic Ceremonial Grade

Classic grade matcha is suitable for most beverage applications, ice-cream and softserve, it has good amount of umami (pleasant savory taste), and medium level of astringency. Mostly used for making low sugar matcha latte or other matcha drinks. It can be used for matcha thin tea too.


Culinary Grade

Higher grade is better, this is true for most of the cases especially matcha tea. But when comes to cooking and culinary, high grade mathca is not always the best. For some applications, you need string bitterness that can be found only in lower grade Matcha. Strong matcha flavor is important because it makes matcha flavour stand out after mixing with other ingredients.

Culinary grade matcha in general are being used for baking and food preparation because it has stronger taste and higher bitter taste. It's also suitable for making ice-cream, jam, making dessert, topping etc. 


Organic Matcha

Our organic Matcha are JAS certified. In general, organic Matcha contains less sweetness as compared to conventional Matcha due to the restriction in fertiliser usage (although the fertiliser used for conventional Matcha are mostly organic compost).